European Hospitality Schools Accreditations Council (EHSAC)

Criteria & Process

EHSAC's accreditation is an independent system for hospitality programmes. Through the process of accreditation, institutions and training organisations have their programmes evaluated.

The accreditation of an academic programme or an entire institution normally involves the following stages:

Stages 1, 2 & 3

The administration, faculty, staff and students of the institution or academic business programme carry out a self-evaluation by following a detailed guide supplied by EHSAC.

A team of peer-evaluators, selected by EHSAC’s Board of Commissioners, reviews the information from the self-evaluation, visits all campus sites, interviews administrators, faculty, staff and students and draws up a report. This report with recommendations is then submitted to the Board of Commissioners.  

Guided by EHSAC’s quality standards the Board of Commissioners reviews the evidence, the self-evaluation report and the recommendations and then takes a decision concerning the award of accreditation. This decision is then transmitted to the Board of Directors of EHSAC for confirmation.   

The process considers all factors that can influence the quality of the education provided by an institution, including inputs; educational processes and outcomes.

Accreditation Fees:

Application for accreditation:

Euros 5000.-                


Evaluation visit expenses:

Fees and travel expense are estimated at Euros 2500.- per expert

Normally a visiting team has 3 experts for three days. This represents an estimated total of Euros 7500.-

Once the Board of Directors has granted ‘Accreditiation’ the institution may then publish in its prospectus/catalogue that the programme (or organisation, if appropriate) has been accredited by EHSAC.


Accredited programmes are also awarded European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS). The number of credits will be clearly specified on the certificate, allowing recognition and acceptance throughout the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).